Public Service Opportunity - Planning Commission

Posted: 11/9/2021 1:30:45 PM

Planning Commission

The Coeur d’Alene Planning Commission has two vacancies and is seeking new voting members to serve on this volunteer commission.

To receive consideration for appointment, please submit a completed Professional Data Sheet, along with a cover letter stating your interest in serving on the commission, with a letter of recommendation by November 29, 2021 to:  Sherrie Badertscher, Executive Assistant, Municipal Services Department, City of Coeur d’Alene, 710 E. Mullan Avenue, Coeur d’Alene, ID, 83814,


Applicants shall have an interest in the growth and development of Coeur d’Alene, community visioning, livability, planning and zoning issues, and the planning process.


All members of the commission must have continuously resided in Kootenai County for two (2) years prior to their appointment.  The members of the commission must be residents of the City of Coeur d’Alene during their term of office; provided, up to three (3) members may live outside the City but within Kootenai County if they are employed within the city limits of Coeur d’Alene.

Because the Planning Commission serves as the Development Impact Fee Advisory Committee, per Idaho Code § 67-8205, at least two of the members of the Planning Commission “shall be active in the business of development, building or real estate.”  One of the new commissioners will need to meet this requirement.

Role of the Commission:

The Planning Commission seeks to promote orderly growth, preserve the quality of Coeur d’Alene, protect the environment, promote economic prosperity, protect property rights, and foster the safety of its residents.  Additionally, the Commission promotes the public interest by helping citizens understand the planning process and providing opportunities for public comment.

The Planning Commission meets the second Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Library Community Room, 702 East Front Street.  Occasionally, the Commission may hold a second meeting the fourth Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m.  There are additional workshops that may take place during the day (generally at noon) or in the evening for special projects, such as the comprehensive plan update or a code amendment, that require more discussion with staff, the City Council or another commission.  

All meetings are open to the public and publicized to allow and promote public participation in the decisions of the commission.

Duties of the Commission:

  • To recommend and make suggestions to the City Council for the adoption of coordinated plans for the physical development of the City.
  • To recommend the boundaries of zoning districts and appropriate regulations to be enforced therein, make reports, hold public hearings and perform all other duties as may be prescribed by the Idaho Code and the City Code.
  • Comply with Idaho Code for representation on the Development Impact Fee Advisory Committee.
  • To comply with all City policies, procedures, and regulations. 
  • Regularly attend all scheduled meetings of the Planning Commission as well as special or called meetings relevant to the office.
  • Prepare for each meeting.
  • Create a positive environment in meetings of the Planning Commission.
  • Maintain an attitude of courtesy and consideration toward colleagues, citizens and staff during all discussions and deliberations.
  • Allow citizens, colleagues and staff sufficient opportunity to present their views, within the prescribed rules of conduct for meetings of the Planning Commission.
  • Avoid the use of abusive, threatening or intimidating language or gestures directed at colleagues, citizens or staff.
  • Avoid comments, body language or distracting activity that conveys a message of disrespect or lack of interest.
  • Respect all local, state and federal laws, rules and other regulations.
  • Publicly acknowledge the adopted position when asked about a decision of the Planning Commission.


* Normally a planning commissioner’s term is six years.  However, the two seats will have five-year terms as they are filling existing positions that are being vacated with five years remaining. The terms for these two openings will end on May 1, 2027.

* Members of the commission will be selected without respect to political affiliations and shall serve without compensation.

 * The City will not discriminate on the grounds of race, color, national origin, sexual orientation, and/or gender identity/expression, in the selection of commissioners.